The fruits of fellowship


IMG_1337
The crazy adventures continue for the Ezzell family! So, we survived the move ūüėČ Last Saturday morning Jamie and his dad went back to NC for his final week of work so I am on my own (with the pups that is).

Since this is the first time Jamie and I have been a part, it has been somewhat lonely for me. On the one hand, we are so excited about being here and being surrounded by such wonderful and godly people. On the other, my heart is overwhelmed. From finding out about our “mouse problem” to all the little errands and tasks, I find myself feeling some heavy burdens.

Tonight our church was having a ladies event called “Pinterest Party”. The idea being to have some recipes (taco seasoning, coffee creamer, laundry detergent, and fabric refresher) and some stations set up for us to make them. Although I had been really looking forward to it, I almost didn’t go because I was feeling so stressed and overwhelmed. I felt like I needed to be the “peppy and excited” youth pastors wife… and after a day like today I was far from that.

I decided to go anyway. When I walked in and saw everybody chatting together I wasn’t sure what to do. I didn’t want to go and jump in to other peoples conversations, I felt like the outsider. A moment later, a new friend saw me and came over to talk, and that was just the beginning.

Most of the ladies there tonight didn’t know how I was feeling today. They were loving and encouraging toward me regardless. These women may not “know me” but that doesn’t matter: they are my sisters in Christ and they have been through trails and triumphs of their own. Though I was intimidated at first, the fellowship I experienced tonight was exactly what my soul needed. The women of Grace Harvest Baptist Church are amazing. They have so much love that they are ready to give.

Friends, please hear me. Christ knows your need and he is faithful to provide, but you have to put yourself out there sometimes. I encourage all of you to find a church with an amazing support system. Fellowship is so important, it is nourishing for us and as a believer you will need it. When you become involved with a godly and thriving church you receive accountability, discipleship, friendship, and worship.

24 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, 25 not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. Hebrews 10:24-25

IMG_1392

Jamie and I were pretty comfortable in our lives before the move. God has called us toward something bigger and better. Along with that comes stress, uncertainty, and hardships. However, I know I serve a big God. I know I have Christ to calm my heart. I know I have a wonderful husband to lean on. Finally, I know I have some godly women by my side. This is just the beginning. Bring it ūüėČ

Hear my cry, O God,
    listen to my prayer;
2 from the end of the earth I call to you
    when my heart is faint.
Lead me to the rock
    that is higher than I

Psalm 61:1-2

 

Leave a Reply

