Those troubling doubts

Today was a really hard day. Though I can’t go into specifics at this time (and you will all find out why soon enough), I can tell you something I realized (or re-realized ha). Hopefully this will encourage someone else the way that it did for me ❤

There are moments in your life that you need to make important decisions. The Christian should be committed to pouring prayer out for these decisions. Well, recently Jamie and I faced one of these. After fasting and praying the decision was made and we were confirmed over and over that our decision was in accordance to the Lords will. It was amazing actually.

However, with every decision you have consequences to some degree. Sometimes, after making a godly choice, challenges come. These difficulties can test your faith. Unfortunately, hardships can also make you second guess the truth. That is what started with me, I could feel doubt creep into my heart. I found myself focusing on the negatives… on the things I may have to give up to be obedient to the Lord.

Then I read my Bible. Isn’t the Lord so wonderful? I love when something is on my heart and then the answer seems to jump right out in a sermon, from my devotions/scripture reading, or even a worship song… I love it! Anyway…I found myself in a passage about a man who had a demon-possessed son. The disciples tried to cast it out and could not. The demon caused the boy to convulse violently, causing bodily harm.

21 And He asked his father, “How long has this been happening to him?” And he said, “From childhood. 22 It has often thrown him both into the fire and into the water to destroy him. But if You can do anything, take pity on us and help us!” 23 And Jesus said to him, “‘If You can?’ All things are possible to him who believes.” 24 Immediately the boy’s father cried out and said, “I do believe; help my unbelief.”   MARK 9:21-24

This man sought after Jesus to help his son. I can imagine he was pretty desperate. Then the disciples couldn’t help! Frustration must have set in, because then the arguing ensues. When the man finally comes  face to face with Jesus, he seems to have lost some hope that his child could be healed. When Jesus confronts his doubt the man acknowledges his need for faith.

Sometimes when things don’t go quite the way we expect we can question God. We second guess the things we knew to be true. If you are a Christian and you are living for the Lord, the struggles will come. But when they do, cling to Christ. Praise Him for the good work He is doing in you.

Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance,and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. ROMANS 5:3-5

Remember, times will come up that you can make a choice between doing what is right and doing what is easy. Stick with your convictions, and ask Christ to renew your strength. Remind yourself of what we know to be true, and pray that the Lord will increase your faith more. Lord I believe, help my unbelief. 

I hope this post makes sense, it is hard to be clear when I haven’t addressed what is really going on. So, my friends and family… I leave you with this:

A week from today, I will announce our surprise. All I can say is a big change is coming to the Ezzell home!

Leave a Reply

